sore bones and broken pride

This is a blog. I guess. If you’re reading this, you probably know me. And you know that I have a billion few passions. Cooking, baking, art, travel, kisses, and of course the Goat who is always willing to try anything for me (at least once). Basically, I love adventure and I love telling stories about those adventures. If you want, you can join in my life by reading about it, and of course providing your own commentary by commenting.

Adventure #1: Snowboarding

Snow is a treat. As a person who loves treats, I love snow. I’ve had prairie my whole life, and somehow the snow on the prairie is no better than a little house on the prairie (but I’ll always love you, Manly). But snow on the mountain? Why yes, I’ll have some of that.

I guess it’s no surprise then that I chose to join my wonderful in-laws for yesterday’s day of snowboarding lessons. As you might have gathered from the title of this post, it went exactly as I’d feared. I didn’t like landing on my caboose, so I suppose I self-consciously decided to opt for my head instead. This resulted in a plurality of falls and an equal amount of stomping up and down nightmare-ish breathtaking mountains.  However, one very perfect beef wellington pastry and a few hours sleep later, almost all is well. This squirrel is no mountain squirrel. Still, in about 2 hours I’ll be buried in back on the slopes giving it another go.

To regain a bit of confidence, I made a very simple treat for my in-laws last night. Seriously, I’ve never met a person who doesn’t like this. As a amateur baker, it’s so easy that you almost hate making it, but when you need a quick sweet for cheap, I always go for Momma C’s (Addictive) Almond Munchies. And that wonderful recipe will be the next post.

One Comment to “sore bones and broken pride”

  1. I’m so glad you started blogging and I’m proud of you for giving snowboarding your all even though you aren’t the best at the sport.

Leave a Reply

